01 Sample from our Meditation and the Chakras Program

The Second Chakra

Sacral Chakra

Sensuality and Oneness with all

Location: Pelvic Region, slightly above genital region.
Colour: Orange
Element: Water
Sanskrit name: Swadhisthana (Her special abode)
Chanting SoundOo as in Dew
Essential Oils: Sandalwood, Petit grain, Ylang Ylang
Gemstones: Moonstone, Carnelian, Tourmaline
Body parts: Reproductive organs, kidney, bladder, pelvic area, sperm, all liquids and fluids in the body.

Common physical manifestations that result from blockages in the first chakra:

Uterus or prostate problems such as prostate gland enlargement, prostatitis, prolapsed uterus, endometriosis (also related to bulimia and compulsive eating) these come from a resistance to self-improvement and spiritual growth. When there is no intake of positive mind food that raises our consciousness and questions our dogmatic and long held beliefs then we stay stagnant and do not grow. We cannot create anything new because we get stuck in old patterns and old ways of thinking. We do not live what we have learned in life and instead become critical of others. These criticisms are a projection of our subconscious frustration at our own inability to move forward. Attending self- awareness classes and engaging in positive spiritual reading that opens our mind can assist with this.

As well as positive mind food, we need to feel positive about the physical food we ingest. We need to be able to enjoy this food and ensure that it contains all the nutrients and goodness needed to sustain, repair and grow the body. This may mean adjusting your diet, going organic, going vegetarian, or doing a detox to cleanse the body of toxins built up from bad eating habits. It may also be beneficial to look at attitudes towards food and where they come from. What was your family of origin’s attitude towards food and eating?  Was it something done just to live? Was it a pleasurable and enjoyable time?

Were there arguments, tension or deafening silence over the dinner table? It may be worth exploring the associations you have with eating and food and addressing these with journaling, affirmations and new mealtime rituals. (More in the program)

Thoughts, beliefs and feelings that affect the sacral chakra

The sacral chakra governs issues around comfort, pleasure, romance, desire, beauty, ingenuity, passion, sensuality, creativity, fertility, passion, sensuality, affection, style, sexuality, indulgence and sweetness.

When your sacral chakra is in balance you feel a fire in your belly. You have a good appetite for life and enjoy life. You have a wonderful sense of style and occasion. You can make the ordinary extraordinary. You enjoy the pleasures of life. You are generous with yourself and others.

When your sacral chakra is out of balance you avoid, control or ignore your feelings; instead you live in your head. You lose touch with or ignore what your body tells you, pushing it beyond its limits and refusing to nurture or be kind to it. You have lost spontaneity, pleasure and joy. You try and repress or control your sensual nature, denying yourself the gifts of life. You live, spend and think as though there’s not enough to go round.


Positive Affirmations for the Sacral Chakra:

I accept my feelings lovingly, they are a sign that I am alive. I flow with the current of life.
I am open to new ideas and concepts
I embrace the pathways to growth that are presented to me
I have all it takes to grow and prosper
My mistakes are my golden learning opportunities I feel my spiritual guidance with me every day
I am guided by love in all my actions
I am prepared to grow, express and love in all my relationships.